The winners of the Spring Split from 12 regions take part in the Mid-Season Invitational Event (MSI). The MSI is the second most important international tournament after Worlds. In this post you will find an overview of all MSI winners.

Cover Image: Riot Games

List of all MSI Champions and Runner-Ups

Season Winner Region Winner Runner-Up Region Runner-Up
2022 Royal Never Give Up LPL (China) T1 LCK (South Korea)
2021 Royal Never Give Up LPL (China) DWG KIA LCK (South Korea)
2019 G2 Esports LEC (Europe) Team Liquid LCS (North America)
2018 Royal Never Give Up LPL (China) Kingzone DragonX LCK (South Korea)
2017 SK Telecom T1 LCK (South Korea) G2 Esports LEC (Europe)
2016 SK Telecom T1 LCK (South Korea) Counter Logic Gaming LCS (North America)
2015 Edward Gaming LPL (China) SK Telecom T1 LCK (South Korea)

The spring split winners of these regions qualify for MSI:

  • Europe - LEC
  • North America - LCS
  • South Korea - LCK
  • China - LPL
  • Taiwan/Hong Kong/Macau/South East Asia - PCS
  • Vietnam - VCS
  • Commonwealth of Independent States - LCL
  • Brazil - CBLOL
  • Latin America - LLA
  • Japan - LJL
  • Oceania - LCO
  • Turkey - TCL

Group Stage

Based on the region's recent international successes, the 12 teams will be sorted into 4 pools, which will then form 3 groups for the group stage.

After a double round robin (best-of-1) in the group stage, the top 2 teams in each group qualify for the Rumble Stage.

Rumble Stage

The six remaining teams will play a double round robin (best-of-1). The top 4 teams in the Rumble Stage play in the Knockout Stage.

Knockout Stage

The winner of the Rumble Stage can choose between 3rd and 4th place of the Rumble Stage as an opponent for the semi-finals. The second semi-final game results automatically accordingly.

It is being played best-of-5 in the Knockout Stage, the winners of the semi-finals then compete in the final.

Also interesting:

List of all Worlds Winners - LoL Esports
24 teams from 13 regions participate in the League of Legends World Championship. In the tournament, the teams compete for the biggest sporting goal in LoL esports: The world championship.
List of all LEC Winners - LoL Esports Europe
The League of Legends European Championship (LEC) determines the best LoL team in Europe in two splits per year and thus also who will qualify for the world championship. You can find all the winners of this esports tournament in this post.
List of all LCS Winners - LoL Esports North America
The League Championship Series (LCS) is similar to the LEC and crowns the best LoL team in North America twice a year. The top seeds in NA are allowed to represent their region at the world championship. A list of all LCS winners can be found in this post.
List of all LCK Winners - LoL Esports South Korea
South Korea is the forefather of esports and thus the LCK is also the oldest of all current regional leagues by Riot Games. The first split took place in 2012. In this post you will find a list of all LCK winners.
List of all LPL Winners - LoL Esports China
The League of Legends Pro League (LPL) is the China-based esports tournament run by Riot Games. In this post you will find a list of all winners of the LPL.