The League Championship Series (LCS) is similar to the LEC and crowns the best LoL team in North America twice a year. The top seeds in NA are allowed to represent their region at the world championship. A list of all LCS winners can be found in this post.

Cover Image: Riot Games

List of all LCS Winners

Split 1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
2023 Summer Split NRG Cloud9 Team Liquid
2023 Spring Split Cloud9 Golden Guardians FlyQuest
2022 Summer Split Cloud9 100 Thieves Evil Geniuses
2022 Spring Split Evil Geniuses 100 Thieves Team Liquid
2021 Summer Split 100 Thieves Team Liquid Cloud9
2021 Spring Split Cloud9 Team Liquid Team SoloMid
2020 Summer Split Team SoloMid FlyQuest Team Liquid
2020 Spring Split Cloud9 FlyQuest Evil Geniuses
2019 Summer Split Team Liquid Cloud9 Counter Logic Gaming
2019 Spring Split Team Liquid Team SoloMid Cloud9
2018 Summer Split Team Liquid Cloud9 Team SoloMid
2018 Spring Split Team Liquid 100 Thieves Echo Fox
2017 Summer Split Team SoloMid Immortals Counter Logic Gaming
2017 Spring Split Team SoloMid Cloud9 Phoenix1
2016 Summer Split Team SoloMid Cloud9 Immortals
2016 Spring Split Counter Logic Gaming Team SoloMid Immortals
2015 Summer Split Counter Logic Gaming Team SoloMid Team Liquid
2015 Spring Split Team SoloMid Cloud9 Team Liquid
2014 Summer Split Team SoloMid Cloud9 LMQ
2014 Spring Split Cloud9 Team SoloMid Counter Logic Gaming
2013 Summer Split Cloud9 Team SoloMid Team Vulcan
2013 Spring Split Team SoloMid Good Game University Team Vulcan

LCS Format

In the LCS, ten teams play in two splits per season (spring and summer) for the championship in North America.

Regular Season

In the regular season, the teams play a total of 18 games (double round robin) in best-of-1 format. The placement in the regular season determines the starting point for playoffs.


Six teams will compete in the LCS Spring Split Playoffs, with the top four seeds from the regular season starting in the winners bracket and fifth and sixth place in the loser bracket.

The finalists of the LCS will be determined in a double elimination system (best-of-5). The winner of the Spring Split is directly qualified for the Mid-Season Invitational Event (MSI), while the runner-up qualifies for the MSI Play-In, which also includes international competition.

In the Summer Split, the top 8 teams qualify for playoffs. The top 3 teams from the Summer Split Playoffs qualify for the World Championship at the end of the season. This results in the summer split being more important than spring split.

Also interesting:

List of all LEC Winners - LoL Esports Europe
The League of Legends European Championship (LEC) determines the best LoL team in Europe in two splits per year and thus also who will qualify for the world championship. You can find all the winners of this esports tournament in this post.
List of all LCK Winners - LoL Esports South Korea
South Korea is the forefather of esports and thus the LCK is also the oldest of all current regional leagues by Riot Games. The first split took place in 2012. In this post you will find a list of all LCK winners.
List of all LPL Winners - LoL Esports China
The League of Legends Pro League (LPL) is the China-based esports tournament run by Riot Games. In this post you will find a list of all winners of the LPL.
List of all Worlds Winners - LoL Esports
24 teams from 13 regions participate in the League of Legends World Championship. In the tournament, the teams compete for the biggest sporting goal in LoL esports: The world championship.
List of all MSI Winners - LoL Esports
The winners of the Spring Split from 12 regions take part in the Mid-Season Invitational Event (MSI). The MSI is the second most important international tournament after Worlds. In this post you will find an overview of all MSI winners.